“He goes on, about how much it meant to him that I was there when he woke up in the hospital.  He saw me as a reason to live, and that’s why he survived when the hypothermia made him sick.  Because he thought that I had come to save him in the cemetery.  That’s why he got so obsessed and everything.  Now I understand.”  She said when she finished reading, tears still on her cheeks.

            “Well, I don’t.  He thought that you did that, you said.  Didn’t you help find him?  It sure sounds like someone was there.  It wasn’t you?”

            “I don’t know who it was, but it certainly wasn’t me.  My parents told me to stay home, they didn’t want to risk losing any more children in the blizzard.  It was freezing cold, and hard to even walk through.  I wasn’t there at all.”

            “But he thought you were.”  I said, confused.

            “Maybe he heard one of the other women, like your mom or mine, and just thought it was me.  I don’t know.  He thought it was me that saved him, and that’s why he got obsessed.  I finally understand that.  I feel so bad – he had convinced himself that he was in love with me, and it was all based on mistaken identity.  Our whole friendship wrecked because he thought that someone else was me.”  She wiped the tears off her face with the back of her hand.

            I sat down and hugged her.  We sat on the porch for awhile just watching the rain, when I sat up.

            “If it wasn’t you, who was it?  And what was that thing about seeing wings?  That doesn’t make sense at all!”  I jumped up to go inside.

            “Where are you going?”  Hope asked me.

            “I’m getting dressed.  We have to go to the cemetery.”

<<Previous   Next>>

