I slept badly.  A knock on my door startled me once I did fall asleep.  I rolled over and saw that my clock said noon.  I rolled out of bed and pulled on some track pants before opening the door.

            “Hey, Ethan.”  Dan said, standing in the doorway.

            “What’s up?”  I asked, bleary and dishevelled.

            “I didn’t wake you, did I?”

            “Uh, not really.  Just having a lazy day.  It’s no problem.”

            “Okay.  Well, I don’t know how to say this, but, uh, I wanted to say thank you.”

            “For what?” I raised a quizzical eyebrow.
            “For kicking my ass all semester, telling me to treat Teri better.  I was lying in bed yesterday, and I had like, an epiphany.  I realized you were right, and she deserved better from me.  I should be grateful for what I have, instead of being stupid.  So I wanted to tell you.  I’m going to turn over a new leaf.”

            “Um, you’re welcome?  I guess.”  I didn’t know what to say.  It was nice to hear that some of what I said got through to Dan.

            “Well, I owe you one.  You’re a great friend, Ethan.  Nobody else would have the balls to keep disagreeing with me, and be right.”  He grinned.  “Want to head to the gym later?”

            “Sure, give me a couple hours.”

            “Catch you later.”

            I closed my door and thought for a moment.  Dan was being his usual charming self, and he was saying all the right things.  But underlying that, I knew he hadn’t been alone last night.  I hoped, I prayed, something last night had given him a change of heart and he realized screwing around behind Teri’s back wasn’t worthwhile.  This wasn’t some magic epiphany, this was guilt.

<<Previous   Next>>